THE ADICTS

Quite possibly more relevant than ever before, the classic kings of Punk THE ADICTS have returned with astounding intensity on their latest release:  »And It Was So«. Genuine Punk Rock has always been about sending a message, but more importantly it’s about remaining true to your roots, and for decades, THE ADICTS have never tried to become anything but what they are: raw, unadulterated Punk Rock.

First establishing themselves in Ipswich, Suffolk, England as early as 1975, and putting out their first full length album on Dwed Records »Songs Of Praise« in 1981, THE ADICTS have had decades to perfect their craft. Their motivation is tireless, unending, and they are entirely dedicated to purity of music which in today’s scene is rare to say the least. The two primary types of fuel used to ignite THE ADICTS fire are most certainly their diehard fans, and the true art form that is the creation of their own original music.

Staying true to their personal taste is part of what caught the recent attention of Nuclear Blast Records. Pete Dee explains: “When it comes to the music, we write what we want to. We’ve never been into the fashion of it all. There are no pressures [right now]. Years ago we were under pressure and none of us wanted to write because of it.” After signing to the label, and with new music ready and waiting to be presented to millions of fans all over the world, THE ADICTS are shifting into the craziness of our modern world and all its influence.

The new album is very diverse and there’s definitely something on there for everybody: some politics, some stories, and some tongue in cheek digs at the media. In a world saturated with media influence and brainwashing, THE ADICTS message is probably just as relative today (if not, more so) as it was years ago. Tracks like the title track ‘And It Was So’ have a classic, straightforward message like: we’re here, we’re not going anywhere: this is us, and this is what you’ll always get. The track ‘Talking Shit’ is a classic reflection of going out, getting drunk, talking shit, and pissing off those around you who are easily offended. The album also has some darker tracks like ‘You’ll Be The Death of Me’ or ‘Picture The Scene’ which talks about the artists of surrealism.

The recording process this album cycle was also a new experience. Without any manufactured sounds THE ADICTS finally did it the way they’ve always wanted to do it: as a real band. They feel that they’ve captured with this album, for the first time, how [they] actually sound, live.

THE ADICTS remain very busy, constantly touring with as many as 50 shows a year. Their fans, and the following of hardcore Punk Rockers that are dedicated to their message are such a motivator for the band that they wouldn’t exist without them. Being so close with their fans, at every concert, it doesn’t matter where, the band will be out and about, walking around. Nothing’s ever going to stop them from going out and meeting their followers. They’re thrilled that so many generations attend their shows. The old fans are coming out the woodwork, too, some saying they thought they were too old to go out to concerts. What a silly thing to think!

With have even more future tunes in the works, they aren’t afraid to jump back in when the time is perfect. Guitarist Pete Dee explains: “We’re writing some good shit. Hopefully the people get off on it because that’s what it boils down to, isn’t it?” With their original line up still mostly intact and with a couple new additions; Pete Dee, Kid Dee, Monkey, and Highko are not tiring of anything remotely related to THE ADICTS. “We’re very satisfied as a band; we’re very happy. This is one of our happiest times. We are what we are and the beautiful thing is: the kids like it. There’s a lot of positivity so we’re just going to keep on rocking… and enjoying it.

Bio Written By: Jackie Dusza

THE ADICTS are:
Monkey | Vocals & Chop Sticks
Pete Dee | Lead Guitar
Kid Dee | Drums
Highko Strom | Rhythm Guitar
Kiki Kabel | Bass

THE ADICTS online:
www.facebook.com/theadicts
http://www.adicts.us

THE ADICTS

Mit der bis dato vermutlich höchsten Relevanz überhaupt sind die Könige des Punks nun endlich zurück: THE ADICTS präsentieren mit noch immer erstaunlicher Intensität ihr neues Album »And It Was So«! Und neben der Wichtigkeit, eine klare Message in seinen Songs zu präsentieren, war im klassischen Punk Rock eine Sache schon immer besonders wichtig: seinen eigenen Wurzeln treu zu bleiben. Und genau das verfolgen THE ADICTS schon seit Jahrzenten, denn sie haben nie auch nur einen Finger krumm gemacht, etwas an ihrem rauen und unverfälschten Punkrock zu verändern!

Schließlich hatten THE ADICTS bis heute auch Jahrzehnte lang Zeit gehabt, ihr Handwerk zu perfektionieren, denn gegründet haben sie sich bereits im Jahre 1975 in Ipswich, Suffolk, England. 1981 stand dann ihr erstes Album »Songs Of Praise« (Dwed Records) in den Regalen. Bis heute ist ihre Motivation unermüdlich und unendlich und sie sind bekannt dafür, sich der Musik in ihrer reinsten Ursprungsform zu widmen, was in der heutigen Szene leider nur noch selten zu finden ist. Die primäre Zutat zu ihrem Erfolg ist also, natürlich neben der niemals endenden Liebe ihrer Diehard-Fans, mit Sicherheit die Kunst, die man ihre Musik nennen darf!

Gerade dieses unersättliche Beharren auf der ganz eigenen persönlichen Note war auch Grund dafür, dass jüngst Nuclear Blast Records auf die Punker aufmerksam wurde.

Wenn es um Musik geht, schreiben THE ADICTS, was sie wollen. Sie sind noch nie mit dem Trend gegangen und heute haben sie auch keinen Druck (mehr). Vor einigen Jahren noch konnten sie dem Druck kaum mehr standhalten, weshalb sie keine neuen Songs mehr schreiben wollten. Doch nun ist damit Schluss: Mit einem neuen Plattenvertrag sowie neuem Material, das Millionen von Fans auf der ganzen Welt begeistern wird, steuern THE ADICTS nun direkt auf unsere Welt und all ihre Verrücktheit zu.

Das neue Album ist sehr vielfältig und es ist mit Sicherheit für jeden etwas dabei: ein bisschen Politik hier, andere Geschichten da, etwas Kritik an den Medien. In einer Welt, die von Medieneinfluss und Gehirnwäsche geprägt ist, ist die ADICTS-Botschaft heute mit Sicherheit noch immer genauso wichtig, wie sie es auch schon vor Jahren war – wenn nicht sogar mehr! Tracks wie der Titeltrack ‚And It Was So‘ haben eine klassische, unkomplizierte Botschaft à la „Hier sind wir, und wir gehen auch nirgendwo hin – das sind wir, und das ist, was du kriegst!“. ‚Talking Shit‘ ist eine Ode an das Ausgehen, trinken, Scheiße reden und denjenigen ans Bein zu pissen, die ständig und schnell eingeschnappt sind. Doch auch einige dunklere Tracks wie ‚You’ll Be The Death of Me‘ oder ‚Picture The Scene‘, die über Künstler des Surrealismus sprechen, bleiben uns nicht verwehrt.

Auch der Aufnahmeprozess des neuen Albums war eine neue Erfahrung, denn dieses Mal arbeiteten sie komplett ohne vorgefertigte Sounds. So konnten THE ADICTS es schaffen, endlich ein Album so zu produzieren, wie wir sie schon immer wollten – als echte Band. Zum ersten Mal konnten sie festhalten, wie sie WIRKLICH [live] klingen!

Mit bis zu 50 Shows pro Jahr sind THE ADICTS non-stop unterwegs. Zu verdanken haben sie all das ihren treuen Fans und all den Hardcore-Punk-Rockern, die sich ihre Botschaft zu Herzen nehmen – ohne diesen immensen Motivator würde es THE ADICTS nicht geben. Die Band steht ihren Fans sehr nah. Bei jedem Konzert, ganz egal wo, lassen sie es sich nicht nehmen, durch die Menge zu laufen. Nichts wird sie je davon abhalten, da raus zu gehen und ihnen direkt live und in Farbe zu begegnen! Besonders zu schätzen wissen THE ADICTS, dass sie stets Gesichtern aus allen Generationen gegenüber stehen. Die alten Fans kommen immer zu ihnen und erzählen, dass sie immer gedacht hatten, sie wären zu alt, um auf Konzerte zu gehen. Es ist dumm, so etwas zu glauben!

Mit bereits weiteren Songs in der Mache, haben die Jungs keine Angst bald zurück ins Geschehen zu springen. Gitarrist Pete Dee erklärt: „We’re writing some good shit. Hopefully the people get off on it because that’s what it boils down to, isn’t it?“ Ihr Line-Up besteht übrigens mit nur wenigen Ergänzungen hauptsächlich noch immer aus dem ursprünglichen Original Line-Up, denn Pete Dee an der Leadgitarre, Kid Dee am Schlagzeug, Monkey am Mikro und Davey am Bass haben auch nach all den Jahren noch lange nicht genug von THE ADICTS! „We’re very satisfied as a band; we’re very happy. This is one of our happiest times. We are what we are and the beautiful thing is: the kids like it. There’s a lot of positivity so we’re just going to keep on rocking… and enjoying it.

Bio Written By: Jackie Dusza

THE ADICTS sind:
Monkey | Vocals & Chop Sticks
Pete Dee | Lead Guitar
Kid Dee | Drums
Highko Strom | Rhythm Guitar
Kiki Kabel | Bass

THE ADICTS online:
www.facebook.com/theadicts
http://www.adicts.us