Cold Snap

The chaos started in the spring of 2003!

As of today, COLD SNAP have done almost 400 shows around Europe, including tours with PRO-PAIN, DEAD BY APRIL and EKTOMORF as well as having shared stages with the likes of LIMP BIZKIT, SOULFLY, DISTURBED, BLIND GUARDIAN, FLOGGING MOLLY, DARKEST HOUR, SUICIDE SILENCE, HYPOCRISY, ICED EARTH, UNEARTH and many others on the following festivals: Wacken Open Air, Metal Camp, Metal Fest, Metal Days, Sun Valley Metal Fest, Metal Fest Croatia amongst others.

So far COLD SNAP has released one EP »Mea Culpa« (2005, self-released) and 3 LP albums: »Empty Promises« (2008, Dancing Bear Records), »Perfection« (2010, Made In Germany-music, MK II label) and »WORLD WAR 3« (2013, self-released; 2014, Eclipse Records).

Their second album »Perfection« and the third album »WORLD WAR 3« were produced, mixed and mastered by renowned metal producer Tue Madsen at Antfarm Studios in Denmark. Tue Madsen is known for working with AUGUST BURNS RED, SUICIDE SILENCE, HEAVEN SHALL BURN, MADBALL, SICK OF IT ALL, KATAKLYSM, AT THE GATES, MNEMIC, MESHUGGAH, BORN FROM PAIN and many more.

COLD SNAP also has 12 high-production videos shown on world TV stations and have received the award “Zlatna Koogla” for the best young act.

In May and April 2017, COLD SNAP toured with their new line-up around Europe as a part of their “Arising Tour” which also included appearances at numerous summer festivals. The crowd’s warmed to the new line-up amazingly and the band spent the rest of the year writing songs for the new album.

In January 2018, the band went to Aarhus, Denmark to Antfarm Studios and once again recruited Tue Madsen for their fourth album. Tue was in charge of production, mixing and mastering allowing the band members to focus on the writing and arrangement without external help. Eddie Berg and Harald Barrett of IMMINENCE paid a visit to COLD SNAP in the studio and Eddie did guest violins on one of the tracks. Eddie and Harald also helped COLD SNAP by recording all of the backing gang vocals for the album.

COLD SNAP plan to release their fourth album titled »All Our Sins« on July 6th, 2018 via Arising Empire. The artwork for »All Our Sins« was created by Željko Manojlović.

The songs on the new album speak about various topics from the band members’ various perspectives. Ranging from personal issues, such as watching close family members endure pain and suffering due to illness, to general views of the world as it exists today including people having to flee from their war torn homelands or famous musicains feeling the need to take their own lives.

The difference between COLD SNAP‘s previous releases and »All Our Sins« lies within the records straight forward approach to the music and ‘in your face’ attitude as the band like to say. The album possesses a fresh and modern sensibility whilst maintining the bands signature heaviness.  The addition of a second vocalist allowed the six piece to widen the scope of their sound with the introduction of more prominent screamed and growled vocals, as well as a more groove oriented approach to riffing that melds the familiar bounce of nu-metal with the bands signature cut throat attack.

COLD SNAP‘s music is like a punch in the face. Exuding a weight that is undeniable whilst maintaining a vitality that keeps the band sounding fresh and cutting edge despite the tried and tested style that makes them feel so familiar from the first listen is their true talent. The band’s infectious sound paired with a live show that means they look comfortably at home on the main stage of any large festival is enough to make anyone realise that they are a very real force to be reckoned with and they aren’t showing any signs of stopping.

COLD SNAP are:
Jan Kerekeš | Vocals
Dario Sambol | Drums
Zoran Ernoić | Bass
Dario Berg | Vocals / Samples
Dorian Pavlović | Guitar
Zdravko Lovrić | Guitar

COLD SNAP online:
www.facebook.com/ColdSnapOfficial

Cold Snap

Das Chaos begann im Frühling 2003!

Bis zum heutigen Tage haben COLD SNAP bereits mehr als 400 Shows in Europa gespielt. Darunter waren Tourneen mit PRO-PAIN, DEAD BY APRIL, EKTOMORF sowie zahlreiche Festivalshows auf dem Wacken Open Air, Metal Camp, Metal Fest, Metal Days, Sun Valley Metal Fest, dem Metal Fest Croatia und weiteren, die sie u.a. gemeinsam mit folgenden Bands bestritten: LIMP BIZKIT, SOULFLY, DISTURBED, BLIND GUARDIAN, FLOGGING MOLLY, DARKEST HOUR, SUICIDE SILENCE, HYPOCRISY, ICED EARTH und UNEARTH.

COLD SNAP haben bereits eine EP unter dem Titel »Mea Culpa« veröffentlicht (2005, Self-Release) sowie weitere 3 LP-Alben mit den Titeln »Empty Promises« (2008, Dancing Bear Records), »Perfection« (2010, Made In Germany-music, MK II label) und »WORLD WAR 3« (2013, Self-Release; 2014, Eclipse Records).

Das zweite Album »Perfection« und das dritte Album »WORLD WAR 3« wurden von einem der bekanntesten Metal-Produzenten in den dänischen Antfarm Studios produziert, gemischt und gemastert: Tue Madsen, der bekannt ist für seine Zusammenarbeit mit beispielsweise AUGUST BURNS RED, SUICIDE SILENCE, HEAVEN SHALL BURN, MADBALL, SICK OF IT ALL, KATAKLYSM, AT THE GATES, MNEMIC, MESHUGGAH, BORN FROM PAIN und vielen mehr.

Außerdem wurden von COLD SNAP bereits 12 Videos in vielen TV-Sendern weltweit in höchster Qualität ausgestrahlt. In Ihrer Heimat Kroatien haben sie sogar den Award „Zlatna Koogla“ als „the best young act“ erhalten!

Im Mai und April 2017 tourten COLD SNAP mit ihrem neuen Line-Up unter dem Banner ihrer „Arising Tour“ durch Europa, einschließlich einigen Festivalshows im Sommer desselben Jahres. Die Menge nahm das neue Line-Up mit Handküssen auf und die Band verbrachte das ganze Jahr damit, Songs für das neue Album zu schreiben.

Im Januar 2018 gingen COLD SNAP nach Aarhus, Dänemark in die Antfarm Studios, um für ihr viertes Album ein weiteres Mal mit Tue Madsen zu arbeiten. Tue kümmerte sich um die Produktion, den Mix und das Mastering, sodass sich die Bandmitglieder voll auf das Schreiben und Arrangieren der neuen Songs konzentrieren konnten. Zudem besuchten Eddie Berg und Harald Barrett von IMMINENCE die Jungs im Studio; Eddie leistete sogar einen Gast-Part an der Geige zu einem der Tracks. Außerdem halfen Eddie und Harald bei den Aufnahmen der Gruppen-Shouts für die Vocals.

Das vierte Album von COLD SNAP wird den Titel »All Our Sins« tragen und am 06. Juli 2018 via Arising Empire erscheinen. Das Cover Artwork für »All Our Sins« wurde von Željko Manojlović entworfen.

Die Songs des kommenden Albums thematisieren vielfältige Geschichten aus der Perspektive der Bandmitglieder. Von persönlichen Problemen wie z.B. zusehen zu müssen, wie nahe Verwandte Schmerzen ertragen müssen und aufgrund von Krankheit leiden, bis hin zu allgemeinen Ansichten der heutigen Welt und allem, was um die Bandmitglieder herum passiert – seien es Menschen, die aus ihren Heimatländern fliehen müssen oder Selbstmorde von berühmten Musikern.

Der Unterschied zu älteren COLD SNAP-Alben besteht vor allem darin, dass die neue Platte ziemlich direkt und mehr „in your face“ ist, wie es die Mitglieder der Band gerne ausdrücken. Und obwohl es auch moderner als vorherige Alben ist, und frischen Wind in ihren Sound bringt, ist es heayvier als je zuvor. Die stärkste Veränderung macht sich jedoch in der Spielweise von Gitarren und Schlagzeug bemerkbar, die von „Nu Metal“ nun eher in den „Groove Metal“-Stil fielen, sowie darin, dass auf »All Our Sins« deutlich mehr Screams und Growl-Vocals zu finden sind, was sie der Tatsache zu verdanken haben, nun zwei Sänger an Bord zu haben.

COLD SNAPs Musik ist wie ein Schlag ins Gesicht. Ihre unverkennbare Note Heavyness und eine Vitalität, die die Band trotz des ausgefeilten Stils, der sie vom ersten Hören an so vertraut macht, frisch und innovativ klingen lässt, ist ihr wahres Talent. Der ansteckende Sound der Band gepaart mit einer Live-Show, die sie auf der Hauptbühne eines jeden großen Festivals bequem zu Hause sein lässt, zeigen deutlich, dass man von dieser Band noch viel hören wird – und sie machen auch nicht den Anschein, diese fortschreitende Entwicklung in naher Zukunft zu stoppen!

Cold Snap sind:
Jan Kerekeš | Gesang
Dario Sambol | Drums
Zoran Ernoić | Bass
Dario Berg | Gesang / Samples
Dorian Pavlović | Gitarre
Zdravko Lovrić | Gitarre

Cold Snap online:
www.facebook.com/ColdSnapOfficial